Women of Achievement has announced the 2017 Women of Achievement honorees – a selection of 10 extraordinary volunteers from the St. Louis metropolitan region.

Founded in 1955, the St. Louis Women of Achievement Award program’s sole mission is to honor and recognize the volunteer service and volunteer leadership of women.

Of the 10 women who are being honored for their outstanding volunteer service and leadership, three are Central West End residents: Adrienne D. Davis, Colleen Kelly Starkloff and Asha Zimmerman.

The complete 2017 Class of Honorees includes:

Educational Enrichment

Claire Applewhite

Youth Dedication

Christine Buck

Arts Advocacy

Adrienne D. Davis

Social Justice

Marlene Hammerman

Youth Services

Rosemary Hanley

Community Betterment

Margaret Hopkins

Social Enterprise

Kathy Lambert

Volunteer Leadership

Elizabeth Mannen

Human Welfare

Colleen Kelly Starkloff

Caring and Compassion

Asha Zimmerman

“Volunteers are the unsung heroes of our community,” said Women of Achievement President Joni Karandjeff. “The strength and longevity of the region’s nonprofit organizations and programs rely heavily on dedicated volunteers. We take pride in honoring some of these outstanding unsung heroes—women volunteers who have dedicated their time, energy, and leadership to helping the community in tremendous ways and inspire others to do the same.”

Women of Achievement honorees are selected from nominations from the St. Louis metropolitan area, including Metro East Illinois, who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the betterment of the St. Louis region through voluntary contributions, volunteer leadership and a significant breadth of a volunteer career.

Women of Achievement considers nominees with significant volunteer impact in areas such as, but not limited to, education, arts, health and human services, youth and family, philanthropy, social justice and advocacy.

The recipients will be recognized at the 2017 Women of Achievement Luncheon on Tuesday, May 16 at the Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis. Doors open at 11:15 a.m. and the luncheon runs until 1:30 p.m.

This year’s luncheon chair is Gin Wachter and the vice chair is Phyllis Langsdorf. Luncheon reservations are $60 per person and can be made online at www.woastl.org/luncheon-reservations or by contacting Women of Achievement at 314-896-4962 or woastlouis@gmail.com.

For additional information about the awards, luncheon and honorees, visit www.woastl.org.